SOUTHERN ADIRONDACK LIBRARY SYSTEM 22 WHITNEY PLACE • SARATOGA SPRINGS NY 12866-4596 (518) 584-7300 FAX (518) 587-5589

ANNUAL MEETING May 15, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. Held at the Excelsior Spring Event Center in Saratoga Springs, NY

MINUTES

The 65th Annual Meeting of the Southern Adirondack Library System was held on Monday, May 15, 2023 at the Excelsior Springs Event Center in Saratoga Springs, NY and brought to order at 6:00p.m. with SALS Board President, Russ Wise presiding.

Mr. Wise welcomed the SALS Board of trustees. Those in attendance were:

- Sue Beck (Warren County/Inlet Library)
- Christine Connell (Saratoga County/Waterford Public Library)
- Elaine Cowin (Warren County)
- Jordan Hornstein (Hamilton County)
- Carol Kuhr (Washington County)
- Janet Lindner (Saratoga County/Saratoga Springs Public Library)
- Margaret Shapiro (Warren County/Crandall Public Library)
- Nanci Vineyard (Hamilton County)
- Russell Wise (Saratoga County/Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library)

SALS trustees not present:

- Linda Borden (Washington County/Easton Library)
- Laura Goodman (Washington County)
- Barbara Taylor (Warren County)

Mr. Wise announced that copies of the <u>2022 Central Library Report</u> from Kathy Naftaly, Director of the Crandall Public Library as well as the <u>2022 SALS</u> <u>Treasurer's Report</u>, and the <u>SALS 2022 Year in Review</u> were available to everyone. This information is also available on the SALS website: <u>www.sals.edu</u>.

Carol Kuhr took the Roll Call of member libraries.

Fifty-four trustees and forty-eight representitives from twenty-eight member libraries out of thirty-four were represented.

Argyle Free library	Ballston Spa Public Library	Bancroft Public Library-
		Salem

Bolton Free Library	Caldwell-Lake George Library	Cambridge Public Library
Clifton Park/Halfmoon Public Library	Corinth Free Library	Crandall Public Library- Glens Falls
Fort Edward Free Library	Galway Public Library	Horicon Free Public Library-Brant Lake
Hudson Falls Free Library	Inlet Public Library	Lake Pleasant Public Library
Mechanicville District Public Library	Raquette Lake Free Library	Rockwell Falls Public Library-Luzerne
Round Lake Library	Saratoga Springs Public Library	Stillwater Public Library
Stony Creek Free Library	The Pember Library & Museum-Granville	The Richards Library- Warrensburg
Ballston Community Public Library-Burnt Hills Waterford Public Library	Town of Chester Public Library	Town of Indian Lake Public Library

Mr. Wise welcomed SALS staff members. In attendance were: Sara Dallas, Pamela DelSignore, Michele Largeteau, Dave MacFarland, Jill Ryder, Jack Scott and Colleen Smith. And the SALS Treasurer Bob Jeffords.

Mr. Wise welcomed guest speaker Ms. Lauren Moore of the New York State Library.

After dinner Ms. Kuhr, chair of the Library Services Committee, presented the Program of the Year Awards along with resolutions from Assemblywoman Carrie Woerner and Senator James Tedisco to The Crandall Public Library and to the Mechanicville District Public Library.

Ms. Lindner, chair of the Personnel Committee, presented the Trustee of the Year Awards along with resolutions from Assemblywoman Carrie Woerner and Senator James Tedisco to Edwin Roger of the Clifton Park/Halfmoon Public Library and to Tom Shaginaw and Steve Zarelli of the Ballston Community Public Library.

Mr. Wise presented Assembly Resolution No. 311 paying tribute to the late Dr. Arnold E. Elman, former Southern Adirondack Library System board president and Clifton Park/Halfmoon board president.

Mr. Wise recognized staff members Bill Rougier for twenty-five years and Sara Dallas for twenty years of service with SALS, and David MacFarland for ten years of service with the JA.

Mr. Wise acknowledged, at the request of the Bolton Free Library, former trustee president Carla Cumming for her leadership and financial support of the library.

Mr. Hornstein, chair of the Nominating Committee, announced the Election of Trustees to fill the vacancy for Hamilton, Saratoga and Washington Counties. The following candidates agreed to serve, if nominated:

- For Hamilton County: Nanci Vineyard, for her first five-year term ending 2027.
- For Saratoga County: Janet Lindner for her second five-year term ending 2028.
- For Washington County: Carol Kuhr, for her second five-year term ending 2028.

Brief biographical information about these nominees was provided in the April 4th notice.

Mr. Hornsten asked if there were other nominations from the floor. Seeing no nominations Mr. Hornstein instructed the secretary to cast one ballot for the people nominated by the Trustee Nominating Committee who is hereby elected by acclamation by the trustees of the member libraries of the Southern Adirondack Library System.

Mr. Jeffords presented a Resolution of Appreciation for Nancy Seifts for her service as a member of the SALS board of trustees.

Mr. Hornstein introduced Sara Dallas, SALS Director.

Mrs. Dallas praised the SALS staff, spoke of the critical role libraries play in their communities, and urged member to actively support the right to read.

Mr. Wise asked if there were questions for the Board or for the Director.

Mr. Wise introduced the guest speaker Lauren Moore, New York State Librarian and State Education Department Assistant Commissioner for Libraries.

Mr. Wise thanked everyone for attending and said good evening.

Meeting was adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Pamela DelSignore

SALS - System Services Support Assistant