SOUTHERN ADIRONDACK LIBRARY SYSTEM 22 WHITNEY PLACE • SARATOGA SPRINGS NY 12866-4596 (518) 584-7300 FAX (518) 587-5589

ANNUAL MEETING May 15, 2017 Fort William Henry Lake George, NY MINUTES

The 59th Annual Meeting of the Southern Adirondack Library System was held on Monday, May 15, 2017 at the Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center in Lake George, New York and brought to order at 6:00 p.m. with SALS Board Vice President, Jordan Hornstein presiding.

Mr. Hornstein welcomed all those present and asked the SALS trustees to stand and be recognized: Linda Borden (Washington County/ Easton Library), Christine Connell (Saratoga County), Paul Mays (Washington County), Karen McComb (Hamilton County/Town of Lake Pleasant Public Library), Bob Odess (Washington County/Cambridge Public Library), John Plantier (Warren County/Hadley-Luzerne Public Library), Russell Wise (Saratoga County/Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library. SALS trustees not present: Frank Mezzano (Hamilton County/Town of Lake Pleasant), Sandra Debus (Saratoga County), Sandi Payne (Warren County) and Dale Nemer (Warren County/Crandall Public Library).

Mr. Hornstein announced that the 2016 SALS Treasurer's Report, Central Library Report and SALS 2016 Highlights, Facts and Figures were on the tables. This information can also be found on the SALS website: www.sals.edu.

Mr. Hornstein welcomed member library trustees and asked Paul Mays to do the Roll Call of member libraries and number of trustees at the meeting. Thirty-two member libraries out of thirty-four were represented.

Mr. Hornstein asked if any member library had any announcements to make. No announcements.

Mr. Hornstein invited Vince Palazzo, President of the Bolton Free Library up to say a few words. Mr. Palazzo acknowledged Megan Baker, Director of Bolton Free Library, for her 36 years of hard work and dedicated service.

Mr. Hornstein welcomed SALS staff present: Sara Dallas, Jennifer Ferriss, Erica Freudenberger, Mary Hanley, Michele Largeteau, Jill Martz, Cindy Mirra, and Jill Ryder. He also welcomed Bob Jeffords, SALS Treasurer, and guests Virginia Graves, Director and Myra Cardone, Treasurer of Hillview Free Library, Gina Wierzboski, District Office Manager for Assemblywoman Mary Beth Walsh and Dr. Terry Kirchner, Speaker and Executive Director of the Westchester Library System.

Mr. Hornstein asked Linda Borden, representing the Library Services Committee, to present the Library Program of the Year Award:

Schuylerville Public Library for its program, "Counting Down to Kindergarten".

The Schuylerville Public Library began its first 6-week kindergarten readiness program. The

Schuylerville Central School District lacked a Universal Pre-K program, and there were limited opportunities within the district for preschool education. The library staff and board, keeping with the library's strategic plan goal of Early Literacy, filled the gap with this program. The library reallocated funds to hire staff, and, in partnership with the elementary school and WIC, the program was developed. The program strives to have parent involvement so that they can continue to work with their children at home.

Counting Down to Kindergarten has brought many new people into the library and expanded the library's network. This program represents the library's community-mindedness and dedication to early literacy.

Mr. Hornstein, representing the Personnel Committee, presented Library Trustee of the Year Award:

Mary Ann Galarneau - Stillwater Public Library

Mary Ann Galarneau has been a trustee of the Stillwater Public Library since 2010. She worked tirelessly to secure stable funding for the library by becoming a school district public library. She attended Town and School Board meetings to make sure everyone was aware of the change sought. She met with the School Superintendent and Town Supervisor to answer any questions. In May 2016, the vote was held to become a school district public library and passed by 422-128. Mary Ann is chair of the Transition Committee, and is an amazing asset to the library and the community.

Mr. Hornstein acknowledged two SALS Staff Awards:

- Jill Ryder for 10 years of service
- Michele Largeteau for 25 years of service

Mr. Hornstein announced the Election of Trustees to fill the vacancy for Hamilton County, Saratoga County and Washington County. All member libraries were notified of the search process for trustees from Hamilton, Saratoga and Washington Counties for a term specified in memos set to each member library board president. A revised April 18 "Notice of Annual Business Meeting" informed every member library trustee of the candidates. The following candidates have agreed to serve if nominated, and whose term will expire May 2022:

- For Hamilton County: Nancy Seifts for her first five-year term.
- For Saratoga County: Sandra Debus for her first five-year term.
- For Washington County: Robert Odess for his second five-year term.

Brief biographical information about these nominees were provided in the April 18 notice. Mr. Hornstein asked if there were other nominations from the floor. Hearing none, he instructed the secretary to cast one ballot for the persons nominated by the Trustee Nominating Committee who are hereby elected by acclamation by the trustees of the member libraries of the Southern Adirondack Library System.

Mr. Hornstein introduced Sara Dallas, SALS Director. Mrs. Dallas thanked everyone for coming to Lake George to celebrate libraries and library services. She thanked everyone for helping develop the SALS plan of service and evaluate SALS services on a yearly basis. Mrs. Dallas thanked all of the SALS and Joint Automation staff for all that they do. Mrs. Dallas announced the resignation of Jennifer Ferriss, who will be taking a new position at the Saratoga Springs

Public Library in June. She thanked Jennifer for her years of service and dedication for providing leadership to all. Mrs. Dallas announced that Jill Martz, SALS Administration and Finance Manager, will be retiring, and her last day is May 30, 2017. She thanked Jill for the dedicated service she has provided for 32 years.

The Stillwater Public Library received a \$500 continuing education scholarship, The Waterford Public Library and Town of Johnsburg Library each received a \$250 continuing education scholarships.

Mr. Hornstein introduced Dr. Terry Kirchner who was the evening's speaker. Mr. Kirchner presented his program, "Don't Worry, Be Happy: Avoiding Trustee Burnout." – A Library Board Self-Assessment Exercise.

Paul Mays recognized and thanked Frank Mezzano for the years he served on the SALS Board.

Mr. Hornstein thanked everyone for coming, asked everyone to return nametags. The meeting was adjourned at 7:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cindy Mirra

Recording Secretary