## SOUTHERN ADIRONDACK LIBRARY SYSTEM 22 WHITNEY PLACE • SARATOGA SPRINGS NY 12866-4596 (518) 584-7300 FAX (518) 587-5589

## **ANNUAL MEETING**

May 18, 2015 Fort William Henry Convention Center Lake George, NY

## **MINUTES**

The 57th Annual Meeting of the Southern Adirondack Library System was held on Monday, May 18, 2015 at the Fort William Henry Convention Center, Lake George, New York and brought to order at 7:00 p.m. with President Frank Mezzano presiding.

Mr. Mezzano welcomed all those present and asked the SALS trustees to stand and be recognized: Christine Connell (Saratoga County), Judy Hoover (Washington County/Easton Library), Jordan Hornstein (Hamilton County), Paul Mays (Washington County), Dale Nemer (Warren County/Crandall Public Library), Bob Odess (Washington County/Cambridge Public Library), Sandi Payne (Warren County/Stony Creek Free Library), Russell Wise (Saratoga County, Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library) and Frank Mezzano represents Hamilton County and the Town of Lake Pleasant Library. SALS trustees not present: Sandra Debus (Saratoga County), Karen McComb (Hamilton County/Town of Lake Pleasant Public Library), John Plantier (Warren County/Hadley-Luzerne Public Library).

Mr. Mezzano announced that the 2014 SALS Treasurer's Report, Central Library Report and SALS 2014 Highlights, Facts and Figures were on the tables. This information will also be on SALS website: www.sals.edu.

Mr. Mezzano welcomed member library trustees and asked Sandi Payne for the Roll Call of member libraries and number of trustees at the meeting. Thirty member libraries out of thirty four were represented.

Mr. Mezzano welcomed SALS staff present: Laurie Buckley, Sara Dallas, Jennifer Ferriss, Diane Robinson, and Jill Ryder

Guests:

Joseph Bellacosa, this evening's presenter Krista Conrick, Adult Literacy at WSWHE BOCES

Frank Thomas, Stony Creek Town Supervisor Stony Creek Town Supervisor

Mr. Mezzano asked Bob Odess, the Chair of the Library Services Committee, to present the Library Program of the Year Awards:

• Argyle Free Library for "Underground Railroad program":

In celebration of Argyle's 250th Anniversary, Argyle Free Library and the 8th grade class at Argyle Central School produced and presented the Underground Railroad Program with help from a LARAC grant. Their multi-disciplinary approach celebrated local history—honoring Argyle as the site of the first abolitionist activity in the Adirondack region by integrating drama, music and art in an impressive, inspiring amalgamation.

• Cambridge Public Library— for their "Geek Squad program":

The library partnered with the Cambridge Central School District, and for 10 weeks three students assisted patrons with computer questions and other forms of technology instruction. In addition to hands-on assistance, the Geek Squad members produced how-to documents, serviced the library's lending laptops and built two computers for public access. This innovative, inspiring and resourceful program reminds us of the industrious nature of our librarians & trustees, and of the vast potential for life-changing partnerships within our communities.

Judy Hoover, Chair of the Personnel Committee, presented Library Trustee of the Year Awards to:

• Arnold E. Elman – Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library:

In a time of great change, he labored as a member of the Legislative Committee to unite the two towns of Clifton Park and Halfmoon. In a time of great change, he labored as a member of the Legislative Committee to unite the two towns of Clifton Park and Halfmoon. Through his commitment, integrity and vision, Dr. Elman has impacted numerous lives and helped improve the quality of library services offered throughout the region during his decade on the library's Board of Trustees.

• Barbara Caimano – Crandall Public Library:

The Richards Library would not be what it is today without the leadership of Susan Jennings.

Crandall Public Library owes Barbara Caimano a great debt for all her hard work as an advocate for progress; her dedication to the library's construction project and continued expansion of the services and resources they offer their community has been an inspiration.

Ms. Hoover presented SALS Staff Awards to:

- Jennifer Ferriss for 15 years of service
- Jill Martz for 30 years of service
- Sharon Shyne for 15 years of service

Mr. Mezzano announced the Election of Trustee and asked Dale Nemer to give the Nominating Committee's report. Ms. Nemer noted that there was one vacancy in Washington County due to the expiration of Ms. Hoover's second five-year term, two in Hamilton County, one in Saratoga County and one in Warren County. An April 14th "Notice of Annual Business Meeting" informed every member library trustee of the Trustee Nominating Committee's choice of candidate. The Trustee Nominating Committee offered the following candidate, whose term will expire May, 2020:

- For Hamilton County: Jordan Hornstein for his second five year term.

  Karen McComb for her second five year term.
- For Saratoga County: Christine Connell for her first five year term.
- For Warren County: John Plantier for his second five year term.
- For Washington County: Linda Borden for her first five year term.

Brief biographical information about this nominee was provided in the April 14th notice. Ms. Nemer asked if there were other nominations from the floor. Hearing none, he instructed the secretary to cast one ballot for the person nominated by the Trustee Nominating Committee who is hereby elected by acclamation by the trustees of the member libraries of the Southern Adirondack Library System.

Mr. Mezzano asked if any member libraries had announcements. Susan Frisbee from the Greenwich Free Library introduced their new director, Annie Miller.

Mr. Mezzano introduced Sara Dallas, SALS Director. Mrs. Dallas extended thanks to SALS Staff and SALS Board for their support. She thanked all of the member library staff, boards and library supporters for all providing library services in their communities.

Mr. Mezzano moved, seconded by Mr. Mays to make a Resolution of Appreciation for Ms. Hoover. Ms Dallas presented Ms. Hoover with a gift of appreciation and a resolution from Senator Kathleen Marchione.

Mr. Mezzano introduced Joseph Bellacosa who was the master of ceremonies for Library Trivia Night. Three tables made it to the tie-breaker round and Table 6 was the winner.

Sara Dallas and Jennifer Ferriss held a drawing for door prizes:

• Galway Public Library: Pack of comic books for Summer Reading

Continuing Education Certificates –all libraries represented were entered in this drawing:

- Pember Library and Museum a \$250 certificate
- Whitehall Free Library a \$250 certificate
- Town of Chester Public Library a \$500 certificate

Mr. Mezzano thanked everyone for coming, asked them to return their name tags on the way out, and the meeting was adjourned at 8:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jennifer Ferriss

**Recording Secretary**