By   10/26/2017

Event Details

  • Date:
  • Categories:

Bringing PLUM LANDING to Your Library and Community

Thursday, 11/30/2017

1:00 PM (Eastern)
12:00 PM (Central)
11:00 AM (Mountain)
10:00 AM (Pacific)
Libraries are evolving with the digital age, replacing stacks of paper books with digital community spaces. PLUM LANDING, a digital project produced by WGBH for PBS KIDS’, provides a unique opportunity for harnessing the opportunities libraries provide as a source of digital access as well as on-site STEM learning and community engagement. The PLUM LANDING web site is rich in STEM-and NGSS-based resources to help kids learn about the environment and inspire them to be caretakers of the planet. Hear how public libraries have incorporated the PLUM LANDING resources into their library programming for kids 6- to 9-years-old to create fun, engaging programs and events focused on environmental science learning, the use of digital technology, and an appreciation of nature. Brianne Keith, Outreach Manager with the WGBH Education Department and Rebecca Fox, Children’s Librarian of the West End Branch of the Boston Public Library co-present.

Learning Outcomes

Participants will:

Become familiar with the PLUM LANDING’s web site and free resources
Know how libraries have incorporated the resources into their current programming
Be prepared to think of creative ways to introduce PLUM LANDING into their current programming, or create unique digital- and outdoor-based library events using the resources

Who Should Attend

Librarians who serve children 6- to 9-years-old and their families

Instructors

Rebecca Fox is the Children’s Librarian at the West End Branch of the Boston Public Library.

Brianne Keith is an Outreach Manager in the Education Department at WGBH in Boston, a leading media producer for PBS. She has developed and produced K-12 education materials for over 15 years. She currently manages outreach efforts for PLUM LANDING, a digital project with resources for getting kids and families outdoors and learning about the environment.

Registration

Cost

ALSC is offering this webinar free of charge. During the webinar presentation, due to platform capacity, only the first 100 attendees to log in will be able to access the free webinar. However, all registrants will receive a direct link to the webinar archive post-webinar.

How to Register

Click here to register for this webinar.

Tech Requirements

computer, internet access

Share
Category: